ROOTS Members

Khadijeh Alinezhad

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Olshausenstraße 80a, R. EG.004
Phone: +49 431 880 6704
Telefax: +49 431 880-5498
kalinezhad@roots.uni-kiel.de

Dr. Vesa Arponen

Institute of Philosophy | Environmental Philosophy and Ethics

ROOTS full member

Leibnizstr. 3, R. 138
Phone: 0431- 8805472
Telefax: +49 431 880-5261
varponen@roots.uni-kiel.de

Ginevra Bellini

Institute for Ecosystem Research | Geobotany

ROOTS full member

Olshausenstraße 75, R. 309
Phone: +49 431 880 1214
gbellini@roots.uni-kiel.de

Prof. Johannes Bröcker (†)

Institute for Environmental, Resource and Spatial Economics

Prof. Claus von Carnap-Bornheim

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology ||| Centre for Baltic and Sandinavian Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Phone: +49 4621 813-401
Telefax: +49 4621 813-535
claus.carnap@landesmuseen.sh

photo: Kinka Tadsen © Stiftung Schleswig-Holsteinische Landesmuseen

 

Dr. Pawel Cembrzynski

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Olshausenstraße 80h, R. EG. 007
Phone: +49 431 880-6572
Telefax: +49 431 880 5498
pcembrzynski@roots.uni-kiel.de

Benjamin Claassen

Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Biology

ROOTS full member

Olshausenstraße 80a, R. EG. 04
Phone: +49 431 880-6704
Telefax: +49 431 880-5498
bclaassen@roots.uni-kiel.de

Dr. Erica Corradini

Institute of Geosciences | Geophysics

ROOTS full member

Otto-Hahn-Platz 1, R. 411
Phone: +49 431 880-3901
Telefax: +49 431 880-4432
erica.corradini@ifg.uni-kiel.de

Prof. Margit Dahm

Institute of German Studies | German Philology/Early German Literature

ROOTS full member

Leibnizstraße 8, R. 411
Phone: +49 431 880-2621
Telefax: +49 431 880-7302
dahm@germsem.uni-kiel.de

photo: studioline Kiel

Dr. Marta Dal Corso

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Exzellenzcluster "ROOTS", Olshausenstr. 80h, R. 02
Phone: +49 431 880-6580
Telefax: +49 431 880-5498
mdalcorso@ufg.uni-kiel.de

Yasmin Dannath

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Johanna-Mestorf-Straße 2-6, R. 30
Phone: +49 431 880-7407
Telefax: +49 431 880-7300
ydannath@ecology.uni-kiel.de

photo: Doris Kramer

Dr. Walter Dörfler

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Johanna-Mestorf-Straße 2-6, R. 35
Phone: +49 431 880-4059
Telefax: +49 431 880-7300
wdoerfler@ufg.uni-kiel.de

Vanessa Elberfeld

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology | Graduate School “Human Development in Landscapes”

ROOTS full member

Johanna-Mestorf-Str. 2-6, R. 144
Phone: +49 431 880-1622
velberfeld@gshdl.uni-kiel.de

PD Berit Valentin Eriksen

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology ||| Centre for Baltic and Scandinavian Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Phone: +49 4621 813-482
berit.eriksen@zbsa.eu

Dr. Ingo Feeser

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Johanna-Mestorf-Straße 2-6, R. 138
Phone: +49 431 880-3374
Telefax: +49 431 880-7300
ifeeser@ufg.uni-kiel.de

Prof. Timo Felber

Institute of German Studies | German Philology/Early German Literature

ROOTS full member

Christian-Albrechts-Platz 4, R. 611a
Phone: +49 431 880-2127
Telefax: +49 431 880-7301
dekan@philfak.uni-kiel.de

Prof. Stefan Feuser

Institute of Classics | Classical Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Johanna-Mestorf-Straße 5, R. 5b
Phone: +49 431 880-1045
Telefax: +49 431 880-7309
feuser@klassarch.uni-kiel.de

photo: Jürgen Haacks, Pressestelle CAU

Dr. Sofia Filatova

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Johanna-Mestorf-Straße 2-6, R. 37
Phone: +49 431 880-2338
Telefax: +49 431 880-7300
s.filatova@ufg.uni-kiel.de

Dr. Pascal Flohr

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Johanna-Mestorf-Straße 2-6, R. 156
Phone: 0431 880 - 3331
pflohr@roots.uni-kiel.de

Prof. Martin Furholt

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Johanna-Mestorf-Straße 2-6, R. 150
Phone: +49 431 880-3372
Telefax: +49 431 880-7300
martin.furholt@ufg.uni-kiel.de

Prof. Javier Gómez-Montero

Institute of Romance Studies

ROOTS full member

Leibnizstraße 10, R. 103
Phone: +49 431 880-1526
Telefax: +49 431 880-1841
gomez.montero@romanistik.uni-kiel.de

Prof. Annette Haug

Institute of Classics | Classical Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Johanna-Mestorf-Straße 5, R. 15
Phone: +49 431 880-2051
Telefax: +49 431 880-7309
ahaug@klassarch.uni-kiel.de

Prof. Eva Holtgrewe-Stukenbrock

Botanical Institute and Botanical Gardens

ROOTS full member

Am Botanischen Garten 9, R. 505
Phone: +49 431 880-6368
Telefax: +49 431 880-6369
estukenbrock@bot.uni-kiel.de

Marie Jäcker

Institute of History

ROOTS full member

Leibnizstraße 3, R. 139
Phone: +49 431 880-6535
Telefax: +49 431 880-5498
mjaecker@roots.uni-kiel.de

PD Tim Kerig

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Exzellenzcluster "ROOTS", Olshausenstr. 80h, R. EG.05
Phone: +49 431 880-6583
Telefax: +49 431 880-5498
tkerig@roots.uni-kiel.de

Ariba Hidayet Khan

Institute for Scandinavian and Frisian Studies and General Linguistics | Linguistics and Phonetics

ROOTS full member

Olshausenstraße 80a, R. EG. 004
Phone: +49 431 880-6704
Telefax: +49 431 880-5498
akhan@roots.uni-kiel.de

Prof. Lorenz Kienle

Institute of Materials Science | Synthesis and Real Structure

ROOTS full member

Kaiserstraße 2, R. A-233
Phone: +49 431 880-6196
Telefax: +49 431 880-6290
lk@tf.uni-kiel.de

Prof. Wiebke Kirleis

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Johanna-Mestorf-Straße 2-6, R. 36
Phone: +49 431 880-3173
Telefax: +49 431 880-7300
wiebke.kirleis@ufg.uni-kiel.de

photo: Agentur purpur

Dr. Jutta Kneisel

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Exzellenzcluster ROOTS, Leibnizstr. 3, R. 143
Phone: +49 431 880-5925
Telefax: +49 431 880-5498
jutta.kneisel@ufg.uni-kiel.de

PD Philipp Kobusch

Institute of Classics | Classical Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Johanna-Mestorf-Straße 5, R. 13
Phone: +49 431 880-2050
Telefax: +49 431 880-7309
kobusch@klassarch.uni-kiel.de

Prof. Reinhard Koch

Institute of Computer Science | Multimedia Information Processing Group

ROOTS full member

Hermann-Rodewald-Straße 3, R. 301 (HRS 3)
Phone: +49 431 880-4484
Telefax: +49 431 880-4845
rk@informatik.uni-kiel.de

Prof. Ben Krause-Kyora

Institute of Clinical Molecular Biology

ROOTS full member

Niemannsweg 11, R. 106
Phone: +49 431 500-15142
Telefax: +49 431 500-15168
b.krause-kyora@ikmb.uni-kiel.de

Prof. Patric-Alexander Kreuz

Institute of Classics | Classical Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Johanna-Mestorf-Str. 5, R. 5
Phone: +49 431 880 + 1072
Telefax: +49 431 880-7309
kreuz@klassarch.uni-kiel.de

Dr. Frigga Kruse

Institute for Ecosystem Research | Ecosystem Research and Ecosystem Development

ROOTS full member

Olshausenstraße 75, R. I / 109
Phone: +49 431 880-1229
Telefax: +49 431 880-4083
fkruse@ecology.uni-kiel.de

photo: Michelle van Dijk 2018

Prof. Lutz Käppel

Institute of Classics | Greek Literature

ROOTS full member

Leibnizstraße 8, R. 525
Phone: +49 431 880-2237
Telefax: +49 431 880-2286
luka@email.uni-kiel.de

Dr. Eileen Kücükkaraca

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Johanna-Mestorf-Straße 2-6, R. 5
Phone: +49 431 880-3175
Telefax: +49 431 880-7300
ekaraca@roots.uni-kiel.de

Dr. Till Kühl

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Olshausenstraße 80b, R. EG. 004
Phone: +49 431 880-6714
Telefax: +49 431 880-5498
tkuehl@roots.uni-kiel.de

Anna Katharina Loy

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Exzellenzcluster ROOTS, Olshausenstr. 80h, R. EG.08
Phone: +49 431 880-6573
Telefax: +49 431 880-5498
aloy@roots.uni-kiel.de

Dr. Bente Majchczack

Institute of Geosciences | Geophysics

ROOTS full member

Olshausenstraße 80a, R. EG. 05
Phone: +49 431 880-6705
Telefax: +49 431 880-5498
bmajchczack@roots.uni-kiel.de

Prof. Cheryl Makarewicz

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Johanna-Mestorf-Straße 2-6, R. 11
Phone: +49 431 880-3376
Telefax: +49 431 880-7300
c.makarewicz@ufg.uni-kiel.de

Dr. John Meadows

Leibniz Laboratory for Radiometric Dating and Isotope Research

ROOTS full member

Max-Eyth-Straße 11-13, R. 11
Phone: +49 431 880-7385
Telefax: +49 431 880-7400
jmeadows@leibniz.uni-kiel.de

photo: Robert Hofmann

Prof. Johannes Müller

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Johanna-Mestorf-Straße 2-6, R. 23
Phone: +49 431 880-3391
Telefax: +49 431 880-7300
johannes.mueller@ufg.uni-kiel.de

photo: Sara Jagiolla

Prof. Ulrich Müller

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology | Pre- and Protohistory

ROOTS full member

Johanna-Mestorf-Straße 2-6, R. 22
Phone: +49 431 880-3655
Telefax: +49 431 880-7300
umueller@ufg.uni-kiel.de

Catharina Müller-Liedtke

Institute of German Studies | German Philology/Early German Literature

ROOTS full member

Olshausenstraße 80h, R. EG.08
Phone: +49 431 880-6573
Telefax: +49 431 880-5498
cmuellerliedtke@roots.uni-kiel.de

Dr. Nils Müller-Scheeßel

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Johanna-Mestorf-Straße 2-6, R. 5
Phone: +49 431 880-2067
Telefax: +49 431 880-7300
nils.mueller-scheessel@ufg.uni-kiel.de

PD Oliver Nakoinz

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Johanna Mestorf Akademie - Leibnizstraße 3, R. 140
Phone: +49 431 880-5465
Telefax: +49 431 880-5498
oliver.nakoinz@ufg.uni-kiel.de

Prof. Almut Nebel

Institute of Clinical Molecular Biology

ROOTS full member

Rosalind-Franklin-Straße 12, R. 204
Phone: +49 431 500-15155
Telefax: +49 431 500-15168
a.nebel@mucosa.de

Dr. René Ohlrau

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Exzellenzcluster ROOTS, Olshausenstr. 80a, R. EG.010
Phone: +49 431 880-6709
Telefax: +49 431 880-5498
rohlrau@roots.uni-kiel.de

Prof. Konrad Ott

Institute of Philosophy | Environmental Philosophy and Ethics

ROOTS full member

Leibnizstraße 6, R. 316
Phone: +49 431 880-2822
Telefax: +49 431 880-2828
ott@philsem.uni-kiel.de

Prof. John Peterson

Institute for Scandinavian and Frisian Studies and General Linguistics | Linguistics and Phonetics

ROOTS full member

Leibnizstraße 10, R. 425
Phone: +49 431 880-2414
jpeterson@isfas.uni-kiel.de

Prof. Henny Piezonka

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Johanna-Mestorf-Straße 2-6, R. 140 b
Phone: +49 431 880-1621
Telefax: + 49 431 880-7300
hpiezonka@ufg.uni-kiel.de

Per-Ole Pohl

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology | Graduate School “Human Development in Landscapes”

ROOTS full member

Johanna-Mestorf-Str. 2-6, R. 142
Phone: +49 431 880-7427
popohl@gshdl.uni-kiel.de

Prof. Matthias Renz

Department of Computer Science | Archaeoinformatics - Data Science

ROOTS full member

Christian-Albrechts-Platz 4, R. 708 (CAP 4)
Phone: +49 431 880-7272
mr@informatik.uni-kiel.de

Dr. Andrea Ricci

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Leibnizstraße 3, R. 118
Phone: +49 431 880-5871
Telefax: +49 431 880-5498
aricci@roots.uni-kiel.de

I situate my work at the intersection of digital humanities, landscape archaeology, and the archaeology of Southwestern Asia. With an interdisciplinary approach, I conduct advanced scholarship on Holocene human-environmental dynamics, the process of Neolithization, and the emergence of the first forms of social and economic complexity. The main geographical focus of my research agenda comprises the Zagros Mountains of southwestern Iran, the southern Caucasus, and Northern Mesopotamia.

Keywords: Landscape Archaeology; Digital archaeology; Southwestern Asia; Neolithic; Social Complexity; Mobility

Dr. Christoph Rinne

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Johanna-Mestorf-Straße 2-6, R. 136a
Phone: +49 431 880-3378
Telefax: +49 431 880-7300
crinne@ufg.uni-kiel.de

photo: Sara Jagiolla

Khurram Saleem

Institute of Materials Science | Synthesis and Real Structure

ROOTS full member

Kaiserstr. 2, R. A-236
Phone: +49 431 880-6182
Telefax: +49 431 880-6290
mks@tf.uni-kiel.de

Dr. Magdalena Banbury (née Schmid)

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Olshausenstraße 80a, R. EG.016
Phone: +49 431 880 6710
Telefax: +49 431 880-5498
m.schmid@ufg.uni-kiel.de

Dr. Ulrich Schmölcke

Institute of Zoology and Museum | Zoology and Functional Morphology of Vertebrates

ROOTS full member

Phone: 04621 813 352
Ulrich.schmoelcke@zbsa.eu

Zentrum für Baltische und Skandinavische Archäologie, Schloss Gottorf

Dr. Jens Schneeweiß

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology ||| Centre for Baltic and Scandinavian Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Olhausenstraße 80h, R. EG.17
jschneeweiss@roots.uni-kiel.de

Prof. Ralph Schneider

Institute of Geosciences | Marine Climate Research

ROOTS full member

Ludewig-Meyn-Straße 10, R. LMS10 - R.13
Phone: +49 431 880-1457
Telefax: +49 431 880-1912
ralph.schneider@ifg.uni-kiel.de

Hauke Schneider

Institute of Classics | Greek Literature

ROOTS full member

Phone: +49 431 880-2661
Telefax: +49 431 880-2286
hschneider@email.uni-kiel.de

Tanja Schreiber

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Olshausenstr. 80H, EG.01
Phone: +49 431 880-6579
Telefax: +49 431 880-5498
tschreiber@roots.uni-kiel.de

Sebastian Schultrich

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology | Graduate School “Human Development in Landscapes”

ROOTS full member

Johanna-Mestorf-Str. 2-6, R. 144
Phone: +49 431 880-1622
sschultrich@gshdl.uni-kiel.de

Prof. Gerald Schwedler

Institute of History | Economic and Social History

ROOTS full member

Leibnizstraße 8, R. 115
Phone: +49 431 880-2283
Telefax: +49 431 880-1524
gschwedler@histosem.uni-kiel.de

Dr. Katrin Schöps

Leibniz Institute for Science and Mathematics Education | Didactics in Chemistry Section

ROOTS full member

Olshausenstraße 62, R. 235
Phone: +49 431 880-5912
Telefax: +49 431 880-6512
schoeps@leibniz-ipn.de

photo: Andreas Klinge

Dr. Ulrich Schürmann

Institute of Materials Science | Synthesis and Real Structure

ROOTS full member

Kaiserstraße 2, R. A-234
Phone: +49 431 880-6179
Telefax: +49 431 880-6290
usc@tf.uni-kiel.de

Benjamin Serbe

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Olhausenstraße 80h, R. EG.04
Phone: +49 431 880-6582
Telefax: +49 431 880-5498
bserbe@roots.uni-kiel.de

Prof. Ilja Seržant

Institute of Slavic Studies

ROOTS full member

Phone: +49 431 880-2177,-7403
Telefax: +49 431 880-1602
serzant@slav.uni-kiel.de

Dr. Lisa Shindo

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Olshausenstraße 80c, R. EG.01
Phone: +49 431 880 6748
Telefax: +49 431 880-5498
lshindo@roots.uni-kiel.de

photo: Anthony Rety

Henry Skorna

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Olshausenstraße 80h, R. EG.09
Phone: +49 431 880-6574
Telefax: +49 431 880-5498
hskorna@roots.uni-kiel.de

Photo Henry Skorna: Tine Pape for Cluster ROOTS, 2021

Sandra Söderlind

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology | Graduate School “Human Development in Landscapes”

ROOTS full member

Leibnizstr. 3, R. 128
Phone: +49 431 880-5921
Telefax: +49 431 880-5498
ssoederlind@gshdl.uni-kiel.de

Dr. Chiara Thumiger

Institute of Classics | Greek Literature

ROOTS full member

Olshausenstraße 80h, R. EG.03
cthumiger@roots.uni-kiel.de

Dr. Guillermo Torres

Institute of Clinical Molecular Biology

ROOTS full member

Olshausenstraße 80a, R. EG.008
Phone: +49 431 500-15163
g.torres@ikmb.uni-kiel.de

Kiel University
Rosalind-Franklin-Straße 12
24105 Kiel, Germany

Tuvshinjargal Tumurbaatar

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology | Graduate School “Human Development in Landscapes”

ROOTS full member

Johanna-Mestorf-Str. 2-6, R. 28c
ttumurbaatar@gshdl.uni-kiel.de

Prof. Ingmar Unkel

Institute for Ecosystem Research | Environmental History and Environmental Archives

ROOTS full member

Olshausenstraße 75, R. I /130
Phone: +49 431 880-5241
Telefax: +49 431 880-4083
iunkel@ecology.uni-kiel.de

Dr. Mara-Julia Weber

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Phone: +49 4621 813-349
mara.weber@zbsa.eu

Zentrum für Baltische und Skandinavische Archäologie, Schloss Gottorf

photo: Ulrich Simon

Fynn Wilkes

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Olshausenstraße 80h, R. EG.08
Phone: +49 431 880-6573
Telefax: +49 431 880-5498
fwilkes@roots.uni-kiel.de

Dr. Maria Wunderlich

Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

ROOTS full member

Johanna-Mestorf-Straße 2-6, R. 24
Phone: +49 431 880-3798
Telefax: +49 431 880-7300
m.wunderlich@ufg.uni-kiel.de

PD Gabriel Zeilinger

Institute of History | Economic and Social History

ROOTS full member

Leibnizstraße 8, R. 204
Phone: +49 431 880-3797
Telefax: +49 431 880-1524
zeilinger@histosem.uni-kiel.de

Dana Zentgraf

Institute of Philosophy | Environmental Philosophy and Ethics

ROOTS full member

Olshausenstraße 80h, R. EG.18
Phone: +49 431 880-6587
Telefax: +49 431 880-5498
dzentgraf@roots.uni-kiel.de

Prof. Christiane Zimmermann

Institute of New Testament Studies and Judaism

ROOTS full member

Leibnizstraße 4, R. 112
Phone: +49 431 880-3277
c.zimmermann@email.uni-kiel.de

News

Fieldwork + Activities

Publications

Participating Institutions